A3 Focus Groups of Societal Integration: Migration and Ethnic Minorities

Immigrants and their descendants represent a growing share of the population in Europe. Their social integration into increasingly heterogeneous societies is seen as a major societal challenge. There is much evidence that the integration of immigrants and their descendants is lagging behind, with structural disadvantages, social segmentation and cultural differences being the major restraining forces. However, there are also patterns of success among some ethnic groups in some countries. This variation in group-specific and country-specific outcomes needs explanation; yet we still lack understanding of the exact mechanisms behind the differentiated processes of intergenerational integration and their complex causal interplay.

These research gaps are partly due to insufficient theoretical understanding, partly to a lack of adequate data. On the theoretical level, projects in Area A3 rely on an elaborated resource–investment approach as a common integrative framework. On the empirical level, longitudinal information at the micro-level is employed to disentangle causal relationships between different subdimensions of integration, e.g. between structural, social, and cultural aspects of integration.
Projects in Research Area A3 study the conditions and mechanisms of minority ethnic groups’ intergenerational integration, focusing on different aspects of integration and on different stages over the life course. Apart from analyses of publicly available large-scale quantitative data, many projects in this area are engaged in collecting and analysing their own data.

A3 Fokusgruppen gesellschaftlicher Integration: Migration und ethnische Minderheiten

Migranten und ihre Nachkommen machen einen wachsenden Anteil an der Bevölkerung Europas aus. Ihre soziale Integration in zunehmend heterogene Gesellschaften stellt eine beträchtliche soziale Herausforderung dar. Vieles deutet tatsächlich darauf hin, dass die Integration der Migranten und ihrer Nachkommen aufgrund struktureller Nachteile, sozialer Segmentierung und kultureller Differenzen in vielen europäischen Ländern mit Schwierigkeiten verbunden ist. In einigen Ländern gibt es freilich auch Erfolgsmuster bei manchen ethnischen Gruppen. Diese gruppen- und länderspezifisch unterschiedlichen Ergebnisse bedürfen einer Erklärung. Noch sind die genaueren Mechanismen hinter den unterschiedlich verlaufenden Prozessen der intergenerationalen Integration und ihr komplexes kausales Zusammenspiel nicht hinreichend erforscht.

Diese Forschungslücke beruht teilweise auf einem mangelnden theoretischen Verständnis, teilweise auch auf einem Mangel an verwendbaren Daten. Auf theoretischer Ebene nutzen die A3-Projekte einen erweiterten Ressourcen-Investitionsansatz als gemeinsames integratives Framework. Auf empirischer Ebene dienen Längsschnittdaten auf Mikroebene dazu, die kausalen Zusammenhänge zwischen den unterschiedlichen Unterdimensionen von Integration zu entflechten, z.B. zwischen strukturellen, sozialen und kulturellen Aspekten.
Die Projekte im Forschungsbereich A3 untersuchen die Bedingungen und Mechanismen der intergenerationalen Integration von ethnischen Minderheiten, wobei der Fokus auf den verschiedenen Aspekten der Integration und den unterschiedlichen Phasen im Lebensverlauf liegt. Neben der Analyse bereits verfügbarer umfangreicher quantitativer Daten sammeln und analysieren viele der Projekte auch eigene Daten.