A3 Focus Groups of Societal Integration: Migration and Integration

Immigrants and their descendants make up a large and growing proportion of the population in Europe. Their incorporation is widely seen as a litmus test of the integrative power of societies. Empirical evidence suggests that when looking at the integration of immigrants in many European countries, the prevailing picture is one of structural disadvantage, social segmentation, and cultural difference – often stunningly persistent over time and generations.

Studies also reveal, however, that there are interesting exceptions as well as patterns of success, and that puzzling differences do exist between integration domains, between ethnic groups, and between countries.
 To date, comparative research is far from being able to explain sufficiently all the domain-, group-, and country-differences that have been observed. Particularly lacking is an understanding of the more detailed mechanisms behind the differentiated processes of intergenerational integration and their complex causal interplay.
 The projects in this research area aim at closing this gap by studying different aspects of integration over different phases of the life-course, focusing on different ethnic groups and different country settings. They all basically rely on an elaborated resource-investment approach as a common and integrative theoretical framework. All projects rely on large-scale quantitative data to answer their key questions, and almost all employ longitudinal data.

A3 Fokusgruppen gesellschaftlicher Integration: Migration und Integration

Migranten und ihre Nachkommen bilden einen beträchtlichen und weiter wachsenden Teil der Bevölkerung in Europa. Ihre Eingliederung wird gemeinhin als ein Lackmustest für die integrative Kraft einer Gesellschaft angesehen. Empirischen Befunden zufolge ergibt sich im Hinblick auf die Integration der Migranten in vielen europäischen Ländern ein vorwiegender Eindruck struktureller Nachteile, sozialer Segmentierung, und kultureller Differenzen – oftmals erstaunlich hartnäckig über die Zeit und über die Generationen.

Die Studien zeigen aber auch, dass es wichtige Ausnahmen und Erfolgsgeschichten gibt und dass sich sehr interessante Differenzierungen zwischen einzelnen Bereichen der Integration, zwischen verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppen und zwischen verschiedenen europäischen Ländern ergeben.
Die vergleichende Forschung ist bislang noch nicht in der Lage all die beobachtbaren Bereichs-, Gruppen- und Länderunterschiede ausreichend zu erklären. Es fehlt vor allem an einem Verständnis der genaueren Mechanismen hinter den sehr unterschiedlich verlaufenden Prozessen der intergenerationalen Integration und ihrem komplexen Zusammenspiel.
Die Projekte in diesem Schwerpunkt wollen zur Schließung dieser Forschungslücke beitragen, indem sie verschiedene Aspekte der Integration in verschiedenen Phasen des Lebenslaufes für verschiedene ethnische Gruppen in verschiedenen Länderkontexten untersuchen. Theoretisch ist ihnen dabei gemeinsam, dass sie grundsätzlich auf einem erweiterten Ressourcen-Investitionsansatz beruhen. Empirisch greifen alle Projekte auf umfangreiche quantitative Daten zurück, in den meisten Fällen handelt es sich dabei um Längsschnittdaten.