Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung

The Mannheim Centre for European Social Research (MZES) was founded in 1989 as an interdisciplinary institute of the University of Mannheim. It is the largest university-based research institute in the German social sciences, steadily building its internationally leading position. Approximately 100 MZES scholars explore European social and political developments. The MZES is closely associated with the University's School of Social Sciences.

Mission

The MZES conducts social science research on the development of European societies and their political systems from both a comparative and an integration perspective. The Centre has a strong analytical-empirical and comparative tradition, contributing to theoretical developments and to substantial knowledge. It adopts cross-national comparative and multi-level integration approaches, and combines perspectives from sociology and political science. With its specific profile the MZES holds a unique and leading international position.

Organisation

The Centre has two Research Departments divided into three Research Areas each.

Research Department A focuses on ‘European Societies and their Integration’. Its Research Areas are:

A 1. Institutions of Societal Integration: Market Economies, Organisations, and Welfare States

A 2. Spheres of Societal Integration: Family, Education, and Labour Markets

A 3. Focus Groups of Societal Integration: Migration and Integration

Research Department B studies ‘European Political Systems and their Integration’ and encompasses the following Research Areas:

B 1. Conditions of Democratic Governance

B 2. Contexts for Democratic Governance

B 3. Democratic Multi-level Governance

Governance

The Executive Board (Vorstand) consists of three professors of the University who are elected for three years:

MZES Director: Prof. Dr. Frank Kalter

Head of Department A: Prof. Dr. Irena Kogan from August 2014

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Ebbinghaus until July 2014

Head of Department B: Prof. Dr. Marc Debus

The Executive Board is responsible for preparing the Centre's Research Programme and for the allocation of its resources. The Director, with the support of the Managing Director (Geschäftsführer) Dr. Philipp Heldmann, prepares and implements the decisions of the Executive Board. The Supervisory Board (Kollegium) elects the Executive Board, adopts the Research Programme, and decides on the broad guidelines for the budget as well as on the Centre’s statutes. It includes all tenured sociology and political science professors of the School of Social Sciences, a number of other professors of the University of Mannheim as well as representatives of the MZES staff. The Scientific Advisory Board (Wissenschaftlicher Beirat) is composed of internationally renowned scholars. It reviews the MZES Research Programmes and advises the Executive Board.

Projects, the Research Programme, and Research Funding

The MZES Research Programmes are the major tool for planning and coordinating the activities of the institute. They cover three years and are updated and revised on an annual basis. The 8th Research Programme runs from 2011 to 2014. Research at the MZES takes the form of projects which are funded by external grants. In order to be located at the MZES, research projects need to be included in the Research Programme by the Supervisory Board.

The German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) is the most important source of grants, but MZES researchers also acquire grants on a regular basis from other institutions such as the Volkswagen Foundation, the Hans-Böckler Foundation, funding programmes of federal and state ministries as well as EU agencies.

Researchers

Approximately one fifth of the researchers are professors from the University’s School of Social Sciences who are active as project directors at the Centre. About one out of six researchers (Research and Postdoc Fellows, PhD students and Eurodata researchers) is financed from the MZES’ regular budget. All other researchers, most of them PhD students, are financed through external grants.

The MZES utilizes numerous strategies to promote younger researchers. For details, please see Working at MZES.

Infrastructure and Administration

The Eurodata unit offers specialized expertise and support for the specific types of social science data of particular relevance to MZES projects: socio-economic indicators and official statistics (Dr. Franz Rothenbacher), European and national survey and panel data (Dr. Nadia Granato), textual data and governmental databases (Dr. Will Lowe), and data on elections and parties in Europe (Prof. Dr. Hermann Schmitt).

The Europe Library (directed by Hermann Schwenger) is located in close vicinity to the social science branch of the university library and holds almost 40,000 media units and 110 scientific journals.

The MZES Computer Department (Marlene Alle, Dr. Christian Melbeck) provides researchers with custom-tailored IT support.

The Public Relations officer (Nikolaus Hollermeier) serves as an interface between MZES researchers and the broader public.

The secretaries of the directorate (Sibylle Eberle and Helena Wozniak) are engaged in the general administration of the institute. The secretaries of Department A (Beate Rossi and Marianne Schneider) and Department B (Constanze Nickel and Christine Stegmann) administer externally funded projects.

The managing director (Dr. Philipp Heldmann) oversees the MZES infrastructure and administration, and supports the Director.

Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung

Organigram vom MZESDas Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung wurde 1989 als interdisziplinäres Forschungsinstitut der Universität Mannheim gegründet. Es ist die größte sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungseinrichtung einer deutschen Universität und zählt international zu den führenden Instituten seiner Art. Etwa 100 MZES-Forscher/innen untersuchen soziale und politische Entwicklungen in Europa. Das MZES steht in enger Verbindung mit der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Mannheim.

Aufgaben

Das MZES erforscht die Entwicklung europäischer Gesellschaften und ihrer politischen Systeme. Schwerpunkte liegen auf der vergleichenden Analyse europäischer Nationalstaaten wie auch der Untersuchung des europäischen Integrationsprozesses. Die Forschung am MZES ist theorieorientiert und der empirisch-analytischen Tradition sozialwissenschaftlicher Methodologie verpflichtet. Sie stützt sich auf länderübergreifend vergleichende und mehrebenenanalytische Ansätze und verknüpft soziologische mit politikwissenschaftlichen Perspektiven. Sein spezifisches Profil verleiht dem MZES eine unverwechselbare und führende Position in der einschlägigen internationalen Forschungslandschaft.

Organisation

Das MZES ist in zwei Arbeitsbereichen organisiert, die jeweils in drei Forschungsschwerpunkte gegliedert sind.

Der Arbeitsbereich A untersucht „Die europäischen Gesellschaften und ihre Integration“. Schwerpunkte sind:

A1. Institutionen gesellschaftlicher Integration: Märkte, Organisationen und Wohlfahrtsstaaten

A2. Bereiche gesellschaftlicher Integration: Familie, Bildung und Arbeitsmarkt

A3. Fokusgruppen gesellschaftlicher Integration: Migration und Integration

Der Arbeitsbereich B erforscht „Die politischen Systeme Europas und ihre Integration“ und umfasst die folgenden Schwerpunkte:

B1. Konditionen demokratischen Regierens

B2. Kontexte demokratischen Regierens

B3. Regieren in Mehrebenensystemen

Leitung

Der Vorstand besteht aus drei Professoren/innen der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Mannheim, die für eine Periode von 3 Jahren gewählt werden; derzeit sind dies:

MZES-Direktor: Prof. Dr. Frank Kalter

Leiter des Arbeitsbereichs A: Prof. Dr. Irena Kogan ab August 2014

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Ebbinghaus bis July 2014

Leiter des Arbeitsbereichs B: Prof. Dr. Marc Debus

Der Vorstand ist verantwortlich für die Erarbeitung des MZES-Forschungsprogramms und entscheidet über die Verwendung der Institutsressourcen im Interesse des bestmöglichen Forschungsertrages. Mit Unterstützung des Geschäftsführers Dr. Philipp Heldmann bereitet der Direktor die Entscheidungen des Vorstands vor und setzt sie um. Das Kollegium wählt den Vorstand, verabschiedet das Forschungsprogramm und stellt die allgemeinen Richtlinien für die Verteilung des Budgets und für die Statuten des MZES auf. Zum Kollegium gehören alle aktiven, auf Lebenszeit beamteten Professoren/innen der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften, soweit sie den Fachgruppen der Politikwissenschaft oder der Soziologie angehören, weitere Professoren/innen der Universität Mannheim und Vertreter/innen der akademischen MZES-Mitarbeiter/innen. Der Wissenschaftliche Beirat besteht aus international renommierten Sozialwissenschaftlern/innen. Er nimmt zum MZES-Forschungsprogramm Stellung und berät den Vorstand in zentralen Fragen der Institutsentwicklung.

Projekte, Forschungsprogramm und Forschungsfinanzierung

Das Das MZES-Forschungsprogramm stellt das zentrale Instrument zur Forschungsplanung und Koordinierung der Aktivitäten des Instituts dar. Es umfasst drei Jahre und wird jährlich aktualisiert und ergänzt. Das 8. Forschungsprogramm läuft von 2011 bis 2014. Die einzelnen Forschungsprojekte werden in der Regel durch Drittmittel finanziert. Damit ein Projekt am MZES angesiedelt werden kann, muss es vom Kollegium in das Forschungsprogramm aufgenommen werden.

Wichtigster Drittmittelgeber des MZES ist die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), aber auch bei anderen Einrichtungen der Forschungsförderung werben MZES-Forscher/innen regelmäßig Forschungsgelder ein, so z. B. bei der Volkswagenstiftung, der Hans-Böckler-Stiftung und in Förderprogrammen von Bundes- und Landesministerien sowie auf europäischer Ebene.

Wissenschaftler/innen

Etwa ein Fünftel der am MZES tätigen Wissenschaftler/innen sind Professor/innen der Mannheimer Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften, welche einen Großteil der am MZES durchgeführten Projekte konzipieren und leiten. Ungefähr jede/r sechste Wissenschaftler/in (Research und Postdoc Fellows, Doktorand/innen und Eurodata-Forscher/innen) wird vom MZES aus eigenem Budget finanziert. Alle anderen am MZES tätigen Wissenschaftler/innen, die Mehrzahl davon Doktorand/innen, werden durch Drittmittel finanziert.

Das MZES legt großen Wert auf die Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie unter „Arbeiten am MZES

Infrastruktur und Verwaltung

Die Abteilung Eurodata bietet Spezialwissen und Unterstützung bezüglich sozialwissenschaftlicher Daten an, die für MZES-Projekte von besonderer Relevanz sind: Dazu zählen sozio-ökonomische Indikatoren und Daten der amtlichen Statistik (Dr. Franz Rothenbacher), europäische und nationale Umfrage- und Panel-Daten (Dr. Nadia Granato), textbasierte Daten und Regierungsdatenbanken (Dr. William Lowe) sowie Daten zu Wahlen und Parteien in Europa (Prof. Dr. Hermann Schmitt).

Die Europabibliothek (unter der Leitung von Hermann Schwenger) befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe des sozialwissenschaftlichen Bereichs der Universitätsbibliothek und hält einen Bestand von fast 40.000 Medieneinheiten und 110 wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften.

Die EDV-Abteilung des MZES (Marlene Alle, Dr. Christian Melbeck) unterstützt Wissenschaftler/innen im IT-Bereich.

Ein Mitarbeiter für Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit (Nikolaus Hollermeier) ist als Schnittstelle zwischen den Forscher/innen und der breiteren Öffentlichkeit verantwortlich für die Außenkommunikation des MZES.

Das MZES verfügt über drei Sekretariate. Die Sekretärinnen des Direktorats (Sibylle Eberle und Helena Wozniak) sind zuständig für die allgemeine Verwaltung des Instituts. Die Sekretärinnen des Arbeitsbereichs A (Beate Rossi und Marianne Schneider) und des Arbeitsbereichs B (Constanze Nickel und Christine Stegmann) verwalten die drittmittelgeförderten Projekte.

Der Geschäftsführer (Dr. Philipp Heldmann) koordiniert die Infrastruktur und die Verwaltung des MZES und unterstützt den Direktor.