Making Electoral Democracy Work

Research question/goal: 

Making Electoral Democracy Work (MEDW) was an international collaborative project that brought together political scientists, economists, and psychologists from Canada, Europe, and the United States. It was the most ambitious study ever undertaken of the impact of electoral rules on the functioning of democracy and funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

The study implemented voter surveys across 18 elections at various levels of governance between 2011 and 2015 in Canada, France, Germany, Spain, and Switzerland. The analyses were then completed by laboratory and online experiments. We systematically collected and coded a wide range of partisan material for the three months preceding those elections as well as information about the conduct of the campaign. This included the major campaign events, the polls released by the media, and the official announcements and conducted semi-structured interviews with party campaign managers to learn more about the strategies adopted by the parties.

The most influential framework for explaining multilevel electoral politics is the Second-Order Election (SOE) model. We found that there is a crucial kernel of truth in the SOE model: some elections are considered more important by both voters and parties, and voters behave differently depending on the importance of the election. Our central result was that the SOE model is right in stressing that voters are bound to pay less attention to elections they deem to be less important. However, the SOE model falls short in two key respects: it wrongly assumes that voters always consider national elections to be the most important and, equally critically, it neglects the role of political parties.

Fact sheet

Funding: 
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
Duration: 
2011 to 2017
Status: 
completed
Data Sources: 
secondary analysis, panel survey, experiments
Geographic Space: 
Canada, France, Germany, Spain, and Switzerland

Publications

Books

Golder, Sona, Ignacio Lago, André Blais, Elisabeth Gidengil and Thomas Gschwend (2017): Multi-Level Electoral Politics. Beyond the Second-Order Election Model. Oxford: Oxford University Press. [Comparative Politics] more

Making Electoral Democracy Work

Fragestellung/Ziel: 

Making Electoral Democracy Work (MEDW) ist ein internationales Kooperationsprojekt, in dem Politikwissenschaftler, Ökonomen und Psychologen aus Kanada, Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten zusammenarbeiten. Es ist die ehrgeizigste Studie, die jemals über Auswirkungen von Wahlsystemen auf die Arbeitsweise von Demokratien durchgeführt wurde. Finanziert wird die Studie vom kanadischen Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council.

Für die Studie fanden im Zeitraum von 2011 bis 2015 Wählerbefragungen zu 18 Wahlen auf verschiedenen Regierungsebenen in Kanada, Frankreich, Deutschland, Spanien und der Schweiz statt. Die Analysen wurden dann mit Labor- und Onlineexperimenten vervollständigt. Wir sammelten und kodierten systematisch eine breite Palette von Parteienmaterial aus den drei Monaten vor den jeweiligen Wahlen sowie Informationsmaterial zur Durchführung der Kampagnen, welches die wichtigsten Ereignisse im Wahlkampf, die von den Medien veröffentlichten Umfragen und die offiziellen Meldungen umfasste. Außerdem führten wir semi-strukturierte Interviews mit den Leitern der Parteikampagnen durch, um mehr über die Strategien der Parteien zu erfahren.

Den größten wissenschaftlichen Einfluss für die Erklärung von Wahlen in Mehrebenensystemen hat das Modell der Second-Order Election (SOE). Wir konnten beobachten, dass das SOE-Modell einen entscheidenden wahren Kern hat: Wahlen werden sowohl von Wählern als auch von Parteien nicht alle als gleich wichtig eingeschätzt. Manche werden als wichtiger erachtet, und Wähler verhalten sich je nach Wichtigkeit der Wahl unterschiedlich. Unser zentrales Ergebnis ist, dass das SOE-Modell richtigliegt, wenn es hervorhebt, dass die Wähler den als unwichtiger erachteten Wahlen weniger Aufmerksamkeit schenken. Aber das SOE-Modell hat in zweierlei Hinsicht zu kurz gegriffen: Es hat fälschlicherweise angenommen, dass die Wähler nationale Wahlen immer für die wichtigsten Wahlen halten, und es hat zweitens übersehen, welche eigenständige Rolle die politischen Parteien dabei spielen.

Fact sheet

Finanzierung: 
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada
Laufzeit: 
2011 bis 2017
Status: 
beendet
Datenart: 
Sekundärdatenanalyse, Paneldatenerhebung, Experimente
Geographischer Raum: 
Kanada, Frankreich, Deutschland, Spanien, Schweiz

Veröffentlichungen

Bücher

Golder, Sona, Ignacio Lago, André Blais, Elisabeth Gidengil und Thomas Gschwend (2017): Multi-Level Electoral Politics. Beyond the Second-Order Election Model. Oxford: Oxford University Press. [Comparative Politics] mehr